What would love do now?


Travelling is a great way to learn about yourself, experiment with yourself and improve yourself.

In the book ‘Conversations With God’ by Neale Donald Walsch, there is a quote which goes something like this : “Ask yourself what would love do now and I am(god) there”. I have taken this piece of advice a bit seriously. I ask myself before any decision I take, What would I do in this situation if I have no fear, but just love. And the solution becomes clear in most situations.

When you are mindful, you notice a lot of little things, behavioral patterns, about yourself which are normally hidden from your sight. And these patterns normally survive on your fears. Some may be so tiny that you might think that they are not important at all and some are so strong that you will consider them impossible to get over.

When I was in Kibber village in Spiti valley in the beginning of this month I noticed one of my fears. It came to my attention that, I doubt strangers who act very curious around me, asking lot of questions right at the start. I go immediately into defensive mode around these kind of people and watch them suspiciously. I feel like, I have to be careful about each piece of information I give out about myself, thinking, may be this guy has an ulterior motive.

I agree that sometimes you have to be careful. When you are in strange land, you have to keep up your guard a little bit. There are good people and bad people everywhere, but the difference isn’t always obvious to us. And in my experience, most of the people who I doubted to have ill will for me, were just curious. Unlike some of us, they just couldn’t control their curiosity.

So, in Kibber there was a guy who started asking me these personal questions right away on the road. I was a little bit hesitant to answer them first. But I noticed how my fear was acting up and it made me remember the quote. As I was feeling more conscious, I felt a bit light and started answering the guy with an open mind. Like how I will talk to a friend. Within few minutes the fear disappeared and I felt a brotherly connection to this person. It felt real. It felt like I knew this guy for a long time. It was a heart opening experience. I had similar instant connection feelings with few other strangers in the same way. Whenever I was conscious about my fear inside and decided to replace it with the thought pattern, “What am I afraid of? What’s the worst gonna happen anyway?” , the result was magical.

I think that you feel true freedom when your actions are based on Love. It doesn’t matter, whether the action is important in someone else’s eyes. It can be something like opening a water bottle or sitting on a sidewalk or letting a stranger ahead of you in the queue. When the fear is replaced by love, you feel the infinite possibilities of your life. All the limitations melt away and you feel like a superhuman who can do whatever he/she want to do.

So next time you notice even a tiny bit of fear in you, ask yourself, “What would love do now?”

 

Posted on August 19, 2015, in Spirituality, Travelling. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great read man 🙂 So clear and honest. The kind of piece that can make someone add a small, but crucial aspect to their thinking.

I would love to hear from you

