Climbing at its best in Manali


Right now I am in Vasisht(Manali). I came here on 8th May for bouldering. I
have been waiting for this trip for a long time.

Last time I have been here, was one year before, when I was back packing
with my English friend Luke. We did some bouldering back then, but the trip
time was short and I swore I would come back here next season.

The last three climbing days were perfect. First day I
climbed with Hugo from Spain and Rahul from Delhi and few other friends. We
went all out for 5-6 hours pushing ourselves. All of us climbed, til the
last bit of energy was squeezed out of us.

 

1

 

This is what I love about climbing in Manali. The weather is so pleasant
here that the only thing that stops you is your own body limit. Back in Hampi we
had to plan much more about the timings. 11 am to 4 pm was a no-no for
climbing in Hampi because of the temperature.

After the first day, the muscles were a bit sore. I thought I would take a
rest day. But luckily some other friends from Hampi invited me for sport
climbing in Aleo. Since one of my friend, Linn was leaving India, the next day, I thought it
would be good to spend some time with her. It was a perfect climbing day
for a rest day.

We could try only 3 routes, because we had only one rope among five of us.
The routes weren’t that difficult so it was good for me. It was my first time, doing sport climbing and I lead a 5C route. I felt it less scary to lead than doing it on top rope.

The 3rd day we went up in Vasisht, where Hugo and Tom from Hampi had some
unfinished business. It was a beautiful route, no wonder they got so psyched
about it. There was an easy route on the left side, very balancy, which I
flashed. I started trying the project after that. I made some satisfying
progress, but wasn’t able to complete the route. Next time.

 

DSCN0115

 

We hiked a bit more up and saw a beautiful overhanging rock. Hugo got
really excited and started cleaning  the dirt off the rock, and asked us to come and see the route.
The route was a sit start from an undercut which went to a sloppy crimp and then to
a sloper edge. Then toe lock on the take off undercut, and match on the
sloper, then a crazy mantle, which we haven’t figured out how to do, till now.

 

DSCN0124

 

Working on that problem was a step up in my learning curve. We thought the
problem was impossible for us, but then one by one we figured out small
beta’s to make it possible. The energy was so positive, adrenaline was on
its peak. We were cheering up like kids. We didn’t send the problem, but
made some good progress on it.

 

DSCN0120

Hugo is always very excited about finding and cleaning up new problems. Its
a very good quality which not many climbers has got. Climbing with him
yesterday helped me taste a part of this awesome feeling, establishing new
problems. I am even more psyched about climbing now.

 

Posted on May 11, 2014, in Climbing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I would love to hear from you

