Change


I was reading some journals of Chris Sharma, one of the best rock climbers in the world.    I didn’t read the whole thing but the below few lines caught my attention:

 Before this trip I didn’t climb routes for more than a year. It was a much-needed break from climbing. I cannot climb all the time, but it’s good to know that when I do climb I can really put my heart into it. I think it’s impossible for me to always climb at my highest level, if not because of my body needing a rest, for sure because my mind needs a change.

When you think about it, he is right. You may be very good at your profession. You may love it to the core. But that doesnt mean that you can do it with 100% commitment all the time. As he says our mind needs a change. It can be anything. But once you are back to your favorite hobby after the short vacation you will feel more energetic. You will again feel the freshness in whatever you are doing.

As of now, I want to become a successful rock climber or mountaineer in my life.I know that I am no where near my dream. I do lot of treks but only on weekends. And sometimes after 3 or 4 days of continuous trek I feel that I have to take a break. Just to sit and relax. I was confused then. I was confused about my dream. Becoming a mountaineer is really my dream? If its supposed to be then I should never get bored of it. But after reading Chris’s journal I realized. Mind always need a change. Its the way of life.

Posted on December 10, 2011, in My thoughts. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

I would love to hear from you

